The University of Michigan Club of Greater Detroit held its annual football bust for the 92nd time at Livonia’s Laurel Manor Monday evening, and the stunning choice for MVP was Co-Captain Jordan Kovacs, who won the BO SCHEMBECHLER AWARD.  It was not a stunner because Jordan didn’t deserve or earn the distinction. He did deserve it and he did earn it.

A former walk on, he has consistently led the defense to improvement and success from his strong safety position through some of the most trying football times in Michigan history. Additionally Kovacs captured the ROBERT P.  UFER BEQUEST. That award goes to the senior who has demonstrated the most enthusiasm and love for Michigan.

The only real suprise associated with the award was that it was not again captured by Denard Robinson. The persistant injury that knocked him out of the Nebraska game hurt more than his arm. As you know Denard’s remarkable career has set many records and has been astounding, but this year has been an undeserved struggle. When a QB doesn’t throw a single pass in his team’s game of the season, you know there are major injury effects, although this was understandably passed off as just an “owie” earlier. I am sure, at the beginning of the season, no one, but no one, zeroed in on Jordan as the team’s MVP.  Good job Jordan! It looks like he has grown into that honorary Wistert Number 11.

This year Kovacs started 12 games, had 65 tackles, with 41 being solos, had 5 TFLs, two sacks, two pass breakups and one interception to cap an outstanding regular season.

Jordan and Denard received the Captain’s Award. Denard is the all-time accumulator of yards at Michigan with 10,669, and has 91-TDs, among other distinctions.

Patrick Omameh was awarded THE DOCTOR ARTHUR E. ROBINSON SCHOLARSHIP AWARD. A four year letterman, the right guard has started 41-games, and been named a three time Academic All Big Ten Conference acheiver.

THE HUGH H. RADER JUNIOR MEMORIAL AWARD was captured by Taylor Lewan who was recognized as the top offensive lineman.

Jake Ryan has carved out a niche as the team’s top linebacker, being recognized by receiving the ROGER ZATKOFF AWARD.  With second team media Big Ten honors Jake is building a reputation for playing tough and effective football. For example, starting 12 games,  his four forced fumbles this year ties a single season UM record.

Craig Roh, Senior Defensive End was granted the RICHARD KATCHER AWARD. This recognizes Craig as the top defensive lineman. This is another player that has suffered coaching changes and position changes and has persevered to the benefit of his team. He is now tied with Jon Jansen for the most career starts with 50, and should break this tie with the New Year’s Day Bowl game.

If you are a fan that has never been to this event it is worth the cost, time and effort to attend. The evening is produced on a grand scale. Its production is first class and for those of you that do not see the players up close all the time, it is a great opportunity to put a face with a name and number, and hear the dedication of the players to their program and school.


About Andy Andersen

Andy Andersen, Senior Football Writer andyandersen@wowway.com Andy is a Michigan graduate and long time Michigan Football fan, having attended games during the tenures of Fritz Crisler, Bennie Oosterbaan, Bump Elliot, Bo Schembechler, Gary Moeller, Lloyd Carr, Rich Rodriguez, and Brady Hoke. He attempts to present articles consistent with the concerns and interests of Michigan Fans.