Press Release- Clark, Ryan Named To Bednarik Award Watch List

Author Message

  • Total Posts : 6272
  • Reward points : 4678
  • Joined: 12/10/2000
  • Location: Ypsilanti MI USA
  • Status: offline
Press Release- Clark, Ryan Named To Bednarik Award Watch List Monday, July 07, 2014 10:55 AM (permalink)
ANN ARBOR, Mich. – University of Michigan defensive end Frank Clark (Cleveland, Ohio/Glenville) and linebacker Jake Ryan (Westlake, Ohio/St. Ignatius) were included on the 2014 Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List released Monday (July 7). The Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995.
Clark was a second-team All-Big Ten selection last season. He started all 13 games of his junior campaign and recorded 43 tackles, including 12.0 for loss with 4.5 sacks, and two fumble recoveries. His tackles for loss total ranked 11th in the Big Ten, and his sacks total tied for 16th in the conference. He registered a single-game career-high nine tackles at Michigan State and tied his career high with 2.5 tackles for loss at Iowa. In his career, Clark has accumulated 78 tackles, including 21.5 for loss with 6.5 sacks, three fumble recoveries, one forced fumble, one interception and seven pass breakups.
Ryan served as a team captain last season and registered 30 tackles, including 4.5 for loss, over the final eight games after recovering from an injury that occurred during spring practice. In 2012, he was a second-team All-Big Ten performer when he led the team with 88 tackles, including 16.0 for loss with 4.5 sacks, and tied the Michigan single-season record with four forced fumbles. In his career, Ryan has registered 155 tackles, including 31.5 for loss with 7.5 sacks, five forced fumbles, three fumble recoveries and four pass breakups. He has recorded at least one tackle for loss in 25 of his last 30 games.
Clark and Ryan are two of 10 from the Big Ten on the watch list, and Michigan is one of three schools in the conference with multiple representatives on the watch list.
Semifinalists for the Bednarik Award will be announced Nov. 3, with the three finalists unveiled Nov. 24. The winner will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show broadcast live on ESPN on Dec. 11.
Phil Callihan    Editor-in-Chief   UMGoBlue.COM
Online Bookmarks Sharing: Share/Bookmark

Jump to:

Current active users

There are 0 members and 2 guests.

Icon Legend and Permission

  • New Messages
  • No New Messages
  • Hot Topic w/ New Messages
  • Hot Topic w/o New Messages
  • Locked w/ New Messages
  • Locked w/o New Messages
  • Read Message
  • Post New Thread
  • Reply to message
  • Post New Poll
  • Submit Vote
  • Post reward post
  • Delete my own posts
  • Delete my own threads
  • Rate post

2000-2015 ASPPlayground.NET Forum Version 3.9